ETEC 501 Introduction

Hi everyone, my name is Fernando Delgadillo. I am currently employed as a custodian for the Corona/ Norco Unified School Disitrict. My goal is to work my way into the IT department as a computer technician to gain the experience I need for my future career goals. I have been enrolled at Cal State four years now, and I plan on obtaining a Bachelor of Science Degree in Cyber Security by December of 2015. My reason for taking this course is to gain knowledge that I believe will be beneficial to my career in Information Technology. I have taken many e-learning courses in the past and I have had nothing but positive experiences. I’m at work most of the day so online courses make it possible for me to pursue an education.

As an e-learner, it is important to be self-motivated and attentive to all content in the course. It is exceedingly easy to fail an e-learning course due to the likelihood of missing due dates and falling behind with the material.

From experience, I have learned to read over the syllabus really well to have a clear idea as to what is expected in the course. Familiarizing yourself with all of the different online tools used in the course is also vital to your success in the course. It is expected for students to keep up with the material and to participate in online discussions. E-learning course are fairly easy to put off which I believe is the leading factor for students failing these courses.

“Critical thinking is the intellectually disciplined process of actively and skillfully conceptualizing, applying, analyzing, synthesizing, and/or evaluating information gathered from, or generated by, observation, experience, reflection, reasoning, or communication, as a guide to belief and action” (Scriven & Paul, 1987). Critical thinking is crucial to learning because it distinguishes the difference between absorbing information and gaining knowledge. It is important to analyze all the information we obtain in every perspective possible along with relating it to our past experiences.

http://www.criticalthinking.org/pages/defining-critical-thinking/766

Five elements of critical thinking:

  • Identification of premises and conclusions: Breaking down the information into something you understand and extracting the meaning.
  • Clarification of arguments: Identify any lack of clarity from every perspective.
  • Establishment of facts: Determine whether or not the information is credible.
  • Evaluation of Logic: Compare all aspects of the information to see if they correspond.
  • Final Evaluation: Analyze all evidence to make a decision as to whether or not the information is logical.

http://www.csun.edu/science/ref/reasoning/critical_thinking/elements.html

Leave a Reply

