Blog Discussion Etec 501 (Module 1)

Hi everyone, my name is Fernando Delgadillo. I am currently employed as a custodian for the Corona/ Norco Unified School Disitrict. My goal is to work my way into the IT department as a computer technician to gain the experience I need for my future career goals. I have been enrolled at Cal State four years now, and I plan on obtaining a Bachelor of Science Degree in Cyber Security by December of 2015.

What do you think the most important attitudes of e-learners in online classes. Provide at least five.

 

I believe the most important attitudes that lead to success as an e-learner are to be self- motivated, have excellent time management, be consistent with course content, have great communication, and to be open with the instructor and classmates.

 

What if students do not manage their time, task, or have ownership in their learning. As an e-learning instructor, what would you do?

 

As an e-learning instructor, I would reach out to students having difficulties and try to understand their reasoning. I would recommend them to make a schedule to set aside time for their coursework and to check for announcements daily in order to stay on top of assignments. Students not being consistent with checking for new announcements, is usually what leads them to do poorly in their online courses.

What does mean critical thinking to you? Use your own word. What if students do not use their critical thinking?

 

Critical thinking is the ability to analyze new information using past experiences and knowledge to form your own perspective. I believe critical thinking to be what distinguishes between information and knowledge. People can hear information, but they won’t be able to apply it to anything unless they turn it into knowledge. Often times, there is far more meaning in a piece of information than there appears to be. Without critical thinking, students won’t be able to extract this meaning.

 

Describe each of the five elements of critical thinking. And how would you apply these to your learning in this course?

 

Inference: The ability for an individual to draw their own conclusion from given information.

Recognition of assumption: Determining whether or not the information is valid or is only perceived to be valid.
Deduction: The argument following the initial idea is supportive rather than contradicting.

Interpretation: Extracting all underlying meaning from the given information.

Evaluation: Analyzing information without allowing certain external factors deter the accuracy of the analysis.

As an e-learner, I will be sure to apply these steps to any new information I encounter in order to ensure that I get the most out of my e-learning experience.

 

Summarize this week’s discussions. Use this template to structure your production

 

Overall, I feel my first week as an e-learner in ETEC 501 was a success. It was very helpful having a layout of the course content helping us to be aware of what is to be expected each day. Even though I have an extremely busy schedule, I found it possible to manage my time effectively and keep myself current with all my coursework. It was also beneficial to be able learn so much from our classmates. In most classes, the information comes from one source, but in this course we had information available to us from numerous sources. Students were able to share their perspective on ideas creating diversity in the class.

Quote your best post(s) from the week and explain why you feel these are the best

 

“As an e-learner, it is important to be self-motivated and attentive to all content in the course. It is exceedingly easy to fail an e-learning course due to the likelihood of missing due dates and falling behind with the material.”

I feel that this is my best post this week because it describes the correct attitude to have in order to succeed as an e-learner. At the same time, It states the ease of failing to be a successful e-learner.

Quote several of the best posts from other students. Explain why you chose the ones you present.

 

“Critical learning is extremely important to learning because everyone needs to be able to think, create, judge, analyze, synthesize, and evaluate situations in real life and in school.  No longer should it be “well that is what my teacher said.”  We need to analyze and decipher information to be able to make a viable judgment or decision.”

Gayle Henry

Gayle provided an excellent definition for critical thinking. I really enjoy how she is tied in the saying “well that is what my teacher said.” It relates to a lot of what goes on today.

“Start out any class with a healthy amount of curiosity of the subject and motivation to connect the course with real life teaching.  Beyond that you’ll need to be an independent learner, good at time/project management, and a deep critical thinker who can interpret a variety of text and perspectives to reach original conclusions.  Have patience and willingness to master new technology and you are sure to succeed.”

Christen Smith

 

Christen did a phenomenal job explaining the skills necessary to be a successful e-learner. It couldn’t have been said better.

“Critical thinking allows students to apply the information learned in real life situation. It goes beyond memorizing ideas just for the sake of passing an examination. While working on authentic tasks, students can reflect on what has been learned, which helps to broaden their understanding. In order for learning to be said is successful, learners have to apply what was learned in a new environment.”

Carolyne Obonyo

I admire how Carolyne emphasized the difference between students applying information to past tests and students who actually absorb the information to apply it to real life situations.

              

What did you learn in the discussion this week that will be useful to you or that changes the way you view something?

This week, I learned the importance of critical thinking and the difference it makes to an individual’s overall knowledge and understanding of different concepts. I also learned to use all resources available to me to ensure I get the most out of my education. There is a lot more to learn from reading classmates’ ideas than the average person would think.

Leave a Reply

